• Advertisement
RTAW Advertiser

Sudden unexplained deaths

For all your fish related discussions, including identification, husbandry, ecology, biology, diseases, taxonomy, etc. If it has a backbone discuss it here.

Moderators: Moderators, Mod: Fish Discussion

Sudden unexplained deaths

Postby KayJay » Fri 09 Feb, 2018 5:17 am

Hi members,

I'm new to this but at my wits end. (Sorry for the long post)

6 x 2 x 2 fowlr tank
2 x 1 x 1 sump
Protein skimmer
Powerheads x 2
Tank running for approx 7 months
Fish in it for 4 months
5 ocellaris + 2 barrier reef chromis added first
1 month later + lipstick tang + foxface + valentini puffer (got stuck behind the back wall 3 weeks later )
1 month later + empires angel (adult) - died 3 days later of bacterial infection
2 weeks later + flame + bicolor + emporer angel (all jeuveniles) added more live rock and purchased more salt (different brand)

Each time I purchase fish I take a water sample to lfs for them to test before I purchase and I purchase more clean up crew. Currently have 4 variety starfish and a variety of snails.

All my water tests have always been spot on.

All fish have been happy and feeding.

3 days after last fish purchase I lost 2 angels. The next day I lost the bicolor and one if the chromis. I took both these to lfs and there wasn't a mark on them, their gills were fine and they were brightly coloured. lfs scratching his head as water test was still fine (kh a little low but nothing a teaspoon of bicarb didn't fix). I sent a water sample to Triton and waited. Lost all fish except the foxface over the ensuing days. All with the same symptoms....none! Feeding and swimming happily one minute... dead an hour later. All clean-up crew are still alive and I even have baby snails.

After 3 weeks Triton results are in.... high levels of tin 2.156 and toxic levels of zinc 59ug/l. All other reaults were ok.

So.... did the zinc kill my fish?
...where has it come from?
....how do I remove it?