• Advertisement
RTAW Advertiser

Backyard Hatchery - Purpose-built Air Conditioned Shed!

The purpose of this forum is to allow people to showcase their tanks, and allow other uses to ask questions on equipment, livestock, methodology etc.
Specifically for Diverse Tanks (Cubes, Squares, Triangular) (Fish Only with Live Rock, Predator Tanks, Temperate Tanks) (non-photosynthetic tanks, Marine Plant/Algae Tanks, Greenhouse Tanks)

Moderators: Moderators, Mod: Tank Journals, Promotions, Competitions & Sponsorship

Backyard Hatchery - Purpose-built Air Conditioned Shed!

Postby SammyJ » Wed 27 Nov, 2013 2:57 pm

Introduction:
Hi! My name is Sam and I have been keeping reef tanks for about 12 years or so. Last November I started breeding GSM clowns - something I'd been researching for years and always wanted to try. I found the main issue I had was space for grow-out of the juveniles (as they are quite territorial). The larval and meta phases were easy by comparison, but once they were about 4-5 weeks old they would begin madly killing/eating each other. At that time, my grow-out system was a 2ft tank. So after a year of planning, I am building a purpose-built grow-out system in my backyard contained within an air conditioned (and heavily insulated!) shed. This way I can hopefully produce larger batches of GSM and Darwin clowns, and maybe try some other species down the track. I should mention that this is 99% a labour of love, and if it makes any profit that's a bonus - but not my primary focus! :thumbsup: I would love to hear any advice, equipment tips etc that folks have to offer! :clownfish:

System Objectives: A scaled-down version of a commercial hatchery set-up. Inspired by pics such as this:

System Type: Fish-only Grow-out system, with biological and chemical filtration.

Display System:

Strike up Date: December 2013 - January 2014.