• Advertisement
RTAW Advertiser

funkngroovy's 500mm cube journal, back in Black

The purpose of this forum is to allow people to showcase their tanks, and allow other uses to ask questions on equipment, livestock, methodology etc.
Specifically for Diverse Tanks (Cubes, Squares, Triangular) (Fish Only with Live Rock, Predator Tanks, Temperate Tanks) (non-photosynthetic tanks, Marine Plant/Algae Tanks, Greenhouse Tanks)

Moderators: Moderators, Mod: Tank Journals, Promotions, Competitions & Sponsorship

funkngroovy's 500mm cube journal, back in Black

Postby funkngroovy » Wed 13 Aug, 2008 11:20 am

Thought I would start my journal although I am a bit embarassed by the state of my tank at the moment. I have bought a new 500mm cube that is drilled and have just finished making a stand to suit.

I have been running the existing tank for 3 years now. It has seen 2 moves and months of renovating so it is not really in great shape. I run a cannister filter filled with DSB and live rock. With all this tank has been through, I have been amazed that my water quality is always excellent, I have never lost a fish or a coral.

This tank will become the sump for the new tank and will sit inside the cabinet. I am not planning on runnnig a skimmer at this stage but will need to add a chiller in the coming months. There is plenty of room in the cabinet for all of this gear.[img][img]http://i334.photobucket.com/albums/m414/funkngroovy/100_2245.jpg[/img]

As you can see, I have aranged the tank so that the corals are separated so that they do not attach to any other LR before they get moved over.
Some of this LR will live in the sump.

The new stand during construction[/img]Image

And the finished stand and tank, not yet plumbed.
[img][img]http://i334.photobucket.com/albums/m414/funkngroovy/100_2247.jpg[/img]
That is all for now, will keep you posted[/img]

System Objectives: A nice clean cube that is not overloaded with coral and rock and a couple of nice fish
[