Page 8 of 10

Re: Neptune Apex Available soon

PostPosted: Mon 20 Jan, 2014 7:48 pm
by ggoosen
NewyReefer wrote:
Aronnax wrote:
ggoosen wrote:What is everyone using to keep there temp and ph probes in place? Also are the probes submersible ?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


I haven't done it myself but I've known of people who used a piece of polystyrene. Jest cut holes in is so the probes fit snugly, push them as far through as you can so as it's not to heavy (without submerging them to far) and float it in you DT or sump



Im using a Vertex magnet probe holder, Temp probe is fully submersible but the PH isnt...



Reading through the user guide they mention that all proves are water proof.

The problem is that the plastic on the ph probe becomes brittle if continue sly exposed to wet and dry


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Re: Neptune Apex Available soon

PostPosted: Tue 21 Jan, 2014 4:33 pm
by ggoosen
chromus wrote:Telstra has Online SMS, I haven't played with the SMS functions but it may be possible for someone with time and know how to use it

https://onlinesms.telstra.com/login.do?do=display



After a quick assement, it looks like you need to install the telstra desktop app for this to work.

We need an sms gateway that allows for email > text messaging.

Re: Neptune Apex Available soon

PostPosted: Tue 21 Jan, 2014 4:42 pm
by chromus
This allows that function, but only to numbers registered on the platform.

for example 04xx939394@onlinesms.telstra.com

I used to work in the tech support grp, but that was a long time back.

Re: Neptune Apex Available soon

PostPosted: Tue 21 Jan, 2014 7:03 pm
by ggoosen
Hmm strange, it's not well documented then. I loom around again.

On a side note do you know if to apex unit allows you to define virtual outlets via the web console? I known you can do it from the controller .


Also has anyone had there screen controller freak out? Like this

Image


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Re: Neptune Apex Available soon

PostPosted: Tue 21 Jan, 2014 7:05 pm
by ggoosen
Aronnax wrote:
ggoosen wrote:For those looking for a cheaper option to wifi connect I picked up a tp link at msy for$28 pics below.

Although I had originally stated home power plugs or Ethernet of power will work but not that it will not work on a ups


The other benefit of this little item is that it's tiny and takes up no space

TP Link

TR-WR702N


Image

Image


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


So my understanding of is that this is a tiny wireless router which you use to create a wireless bridge, correct? handy little item, beats using a full size router to create a bridge. :thumbsup:



Yep that's exactly what you can do.

I will say though I am experiencing intermittent drop outs between my apex And my network and public ip.

I am still testing to find out it the issue is because of the bridge it because of the apex unit


I am also wondering if the electrical power boards and/or the cupboard ja playing a part in the wireless drop outs


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Re: Neptune Apex Available soon

PostPosted: Wed 22 Jan, 2014 7:58 am
by Aronnax
I haven't personally had much experience with using a wireless bridge but I've been led to believe they can be a little unstable in terms of maintaining connectivity.

Re: Neptune Apex Available soon

PostPosted: Wed 22 Jan, 2014 9:22 pm
by ggoosen
Aw this thing is cool

Check my dashboard
Image


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Re: Neptune Apex Available soon

PostPosted: Wed 22 Jan, 2014 9:35 pm
by Thommo01
Looks nice!

Re: Neptune Apex Available soon

PostPosted: Thu 23 Jan, 2014 1:34 pm
by Aronnax
Sweeet. :nod:

You're making me jealous, I'm struggling to find the time to get mine up and running.

Re: Neptune Apex Available soon

PostPosted: Thu 23 Jan, 2014 1:38 pm
by Aronnax
In regards to getting the Apex onto the network....

Has anyone had any experience using things like these power line adaptors for networking. I'm interested to know how well they actually work, I'm not familiar with them myself.

http://www.iinet.net.au/hardware/networking/power-line-converter/

Image

Re: Neptune Apex Available soon

PostPosted: Thu 23 Jan, 2014 2:17 pm
by chromus
Powerline is ok, providing the source and destination are on the same phase, even then sometimes if they are on different circuit breakers they can get dicey.

Would i personally put video streaming or mission critical stuff on it, nope, would it be ok for most things probably.

My tank has 2 LAN points for this very reason.

Re: Neptune Apex Available soon

PostPosted: Thu 23 Jan, 2014 5:03 pm
by Aronnax
chromus wrote:Powerline is ok, providing the source and destination are on the same phase, even then sometimes if they are on different circuit breakers they can get dicey.

Would i personally put video streaming or mission critical stuff on it, nope, would it be ok for most things probably.

My tank has 2 LAN points for this very reason.


Thanks Chromus

To cut to the chase, my two options ate either the power link or a wireless bridge. Which would you consider more reliable?

Re: Neptune Apex Available soon

PostPosted: Thu 23 Jan, 2014 5:41 pm
by chromus
Stuart, if I had no cabled (LAN) option I would use the bridge, this is because it is possible to have your modem, bridge and the Apex on UPS/battery and still have functional connectivity. Wireline doesn't give this option.

Now to make a serious number of you Easties jealous, Aquarium Gallery Perth is giving away a full Apex pack at our MASWA meet on the 2nd Feb

:banana: :banana: :banana:

Re: Neptune Apex Available soon

PostPosted: Thu 23 Jan, 2014 5:49 pm
by Rusty1
I use the powerline adapters for my T Hub and wireless for Foxtel.

Powerline adapter wins hands down.

Re: Neptune Apex Available soon

PostPosted: Thu 23 Jan, 2014 6:21 pm
by NewyReefer
chromus wrote:
Now to make a serious number of you Easties jealous, Aquarium Gallery Perth is giving away a full Apex pack at our MASWA meet on the 2nd Feb

:banana: :banana: :banana:



Geez thats awesome well done to Aquarium Gallery Perth :bow:

Re: Neptune Apex Available soon

PostPosted: Thu 23 Jan, 2014 6:47 pm
by Aronnax
NewyReefer wrote:
chromus wrote:
Now to make a serious number of you Easties jealous, Aquarium Gallery Perth is giving away a full Apex pack at our MASWA meet on the 2nd Feb

:banana: :banana: :banana:



Geez thats awesome well done to Aquarium Gallery Perth :bow:



Hey Chromus

Yes, that does make my jealous although I've been jealous for about a week. I was in Perth (my original home town) for family matters last week and Graeme told me to go check out Aquarium Gallery (nice setup). While I was there I had a long chat with one of your MASWA members who works there and he dropped that bomb. I did manage to pick up a clearance nano wave maker on a bargain while I was there though .

And Chromus, thanks for the networking advice.

Re: Neptune Apex Available soon

PostPosted: Thu 23 Jan, 2014 10:15 pm
by ggoosen
Rusty1 wrote:I use the powerline adapters for my T Hub and wireless for Foxtel.

Powerline adapter wins hands down.

Power line is unreliable in the event of a power failure.

There is no way to put them on a ups.

Re: Neptune Apex Available soon

PostPosted: Wed 05 Feb, 2014 9:12 am
by 30092282
In that screen shot it shows an Amp reading. I was under the impression that the Aussie EB6 doesn't support this. Is it something that is functional on your system ggoosen?

Re: Neptune Apex Available soon

PostPosted: Thu 06 Feb, 2014 8:36 pm
by ggoosen
30092282 wrote:In that screen shot it shows an Amp reading. I was under the impression that the Aussie EB6 doesn't support this. Is it something that is functional on your system ggoosen?

Absolutely my eb6 shows overall amp usage for all devices plugged into the eb6


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Re: Neptune Apex Available soon

PostPosted: Wed 26 Feb, 2014 12:00 am
by Topcat
ggoosen wrote:Aw this thing is cool

Check my dashboard
Image

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk



Hi,

how did you get yours to display the power usage?

Tony

Re: Neptune Apex Available soon

PostPosted: Wed 26 Feb, 2014 7:45 pm
by ggoosen
It just did?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Re: Neptune Apex Available soon

PostPosted: Sat 01 Mar, 2014 1:22 am
by Topcat
Weird mine doesn't I have the au 6 plug version.

Re: Neptune Apex Available soon

PostPosted: Sat 01 Mar, 2014 6:44 pm
by ggoosen
Me too, how long you had it for? Cos I had a similar question on the Neptune forum?

Seems that the first ones never had amp reading whilst the new ones do?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Re: Neptune Apex Available soon

PostPosted: Sat 01 Mar, 2014 9:49 pm
by Aronnax
Maybe the first batch to come over need a firmware update for this function to work...

Re: Neptune Apex Available soon

PostPosted: Sun 02 Mar, 2014 10:01 am
by Topcat
ggoosen wrote:Me too, how long you had it for? Cos I had a similar question on the Neptune forum?

Seems that the first ones never had amp reading whilst the new ones do?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


I only bought mine this week, and I believe I did the latest firmware straight away



Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

Re: Neptune Apex Available soon

PostPosted: Sun 02 Mar, 2014 10:10 am
by NewyReefer
No it wont be, I had to update my firmware to 4.31 I think it was and the cd they gave you in the kit was only 4.2 I think.
Check on your dashboard if you have a help button on the right hand side then it is the latest firmware...

Re: Neptune Apex Available soon

PostPosted: Thu 06 Mar, 2014 2:01 pm
by GRK-351
Can anyone comment on reliability of the wireless bridge or ethernet over power that you are using to run the Apex?

I am hoping to set mine up this week, just not sure which way to go connecting to my router.

Re: Neptune Apex Available soon

PostPosted: Thu 06 Mar, 2014 2:50 pm
by ggoosen
GRK-351 wrote:Can anyone comment on reliability of the wireless bridge or ethernet over power that you are using to run the Apex?

I am hoping to set mine up this week, just not sure which way to go connecting to my router.



I have been using a wireless bridge for about 4-6 weeks, havent had any issues?

Obviously i dont update using wireless.

Re: Neptune Apex Available soon

PostPosted: Thu 06 Mar, 2014 4:05 pm
by Aronnax
GRK-351 wrote:Can anyone comment on reliability of the wireless bridge or ethernet over power that you are using to run the Apex?

I am hoping to set mine up this week, just not sure which way to go connecting to my router.


If you go about 1/2 way back up the page you'll see a reply from Chromus when I asked a similar question, hope that helps.

chromus wrote:Stuart, if I had no cabled (LAN) option I would use the bridge, this is because it is possible to have your modem, bridge and the Apex on UPS/battery and still have functional connectivity. Wireline doesn't give this option.

Now to make a serious number of you Easties jealous, Aquarium Gallery Perth is giving away a full Apex pack at our MASWA meet on the 2nd Feb

:banana: :banana: :banana:

Re: Neptune Apex Available soon

PostPosted: Sat 08 Mar, 2014 3:02 pm
by GRK-351
Thanks guys, just wasnt sure on reliability of a bridge.

Cheap enough to try out so picked one up this morning, and all is installed and running. Just need to program the controller now.